This guest post is by James Dunworth of the Ashtray Blog.
On the 28th August, shortly after getting our 14,000th follower on Facebook, we received one of those emails that makes your heart not just sink, but plunge through your stomach and crash onto the floor.
Facebook had deleted our page from its network.
In this post, I’ll provide some hard-won tips that’ll show you:
- how you can avoid losing your Facebook page
- what to do if your page is deleted
- why and how to diversify your traffic sources
- how not to lose your Facebook page in the first place!
6 tips to save your page
First up, here are six tips that night help you avoid having your Facebook page deleted in the first place.
1. Read and re-read the Ts and Cs—and keep up with the updates!
I’ll start with this one, as I believe this was the key mistake we made!
A week or so before we lost our page, Facebook emailed us with some updated terms and conditions. If I had taken the time to read them, we might still have our page today.
Most people don’t bother to read terms and conditions. On Facebook, that could be a mistake! You can find Facebook’s full terms and conditions here.
2. Run your competitions through an app
Competitions are a fantastic way to gain followers, but they have to be done right:
- You need to use a third-party app to run your competition.
- You can’t use Facebook Likes as a voting mechanism.
- You can’t announce Facebook winners through Facebook.
An alternative to running a Facebook promotion is to post a link to a competition you’re holding off Facebook, adding the disclaimer:
“This promotion is in no way sponsored, endorsed, or administered by, or associated with, Facebook.”
Social Media Examiner have an excellent article which will help guide you through the minefield or running a contest on Facebook, called Facebook Promotions: What You Need to Know.
3. Don’t upload copyrighted material
These days, everyone shares images on social network. However, if someone complains about some material you have shared, you could find your post deleted. Check that anything you share is available for public reuse before